Past Personnel Commissioners of the Los Angeles Community College District

The Personnel Commission of the Los Angeles Community College has been fortunate to have members whose qualifications and professional achievements are impressive. In addition to reflecting the ethnic diversity of our community, their professional backgrounds in labor, academia, business, and law have brought diverse perspectives to the role of being a Commissioner. In most instances, they have served more than one term which reflects genuine personal commitment to the principles of merit and has resulted in a level of continuity and stability that has greatly benefited the District and its employees.

Member Dates Vita
Dr. Winston Crouch 1969-1995
  • Chair, Political Science Department, UCLA
  • Winner of Clarence A. Dykstra Award
  • Warner W. Stockberger Achievement AwardWarner W. Stockberger Achievement Award
Harold Jaeger 1969-1971 Business Representative, I.B.E.W.Business Representative, I.B.E.W.
Dr. Hugh C. Willett 1969-1973
  • Professor, USC School of Public AdministrationProfessor, USC School of Public Administration
  • President, Los Angeles Unified School District Board of Education, 4 years
Vierling Kersey Jr. 1971-1990 Retired Dean, Educational Services, Los Angeles Community College District
Dr. Raymond B. Steward 1974-1984 Project Director, Systems Development Corporation
Ann. M. Ramirez 1984-1985 State Commissioner Fair Employment Practices Commission
Bernard Butcher 1986–1989 Retired Dean of Administration, Los Angeles Community College District
Rudolph D. Martinez 1989-1994 Director of Personnel, Coldwell Banker
Rose M. Ochi 1990-1994
  • Director of the Criminal Justice Planning Office - Mayor of Los Angeles
  • Associate Director of the Office of National Drug Control Policy – Clinton Administration
Geraldine Leshin 1994-1998 Director Center for Labor Research and Education, U.C.L.A.
Barbara Kleinschmitt 1995-2000 Retired President AFT College Staff Guild
Dr. Calvin W. Hall 1995-2007 Assistant Superintendent – Business Los Angeles County Office of Education
James A. Srott 1999-2009 Deputy Director, Personnel Commission, Los Angeles Unified School District
Ann Young-Havens 2009-2020 Senior HR Manager – County of Los Angeles
Henry Jones 2007-2021 Retiree Representative and President of the CalPERS Board of Administration
David Iwata 2001-2021
  • Former Director of Marketing, Marriott International
  • Consultant on advocacy, business, community, diversity, and economic development related programs