Three Los Angeles Community College District (LACCD) College Presidents Recognized for Their Outstanding Leadership

October 13, 2023

By Juliet Hidalgo

three LACCD Presidents receive recognition


News Media Contact:

Juliet Hidalgo, Director of Communications and Marketing | (213) 298-0487 cell |


LOS ANGELES - In a momentous occasion, three LACCD presidents have been recognized and celebrated for their exceptional leadership and contributions to their colleges. These distinguished leaders have dutifully served and positively impacted their communities and, most importantly, students.

West Los Angeles College President, Dr. James Limbaugh, was selected as a member of the inaugural cohort of the Aspen Institute's Presidents Fellowship. This national leadership program focuses on developing a sustainable and comprehensive reform agenda that advances excellence and equity in student outcomes at scale.

Los Angeles Southwest College President, Dr. Anthony Culpepper, was recognized with a Los Angeles Times Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, Access (DEIA) Visionary award which recognizes those whose work of service not only embodies, but demonstrates through life experiences the principles of Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Access. Part of this recognition includes being honored at the event and an article in the Fall/Winter special section of the LA Times.

Los Angeles City College President, Dr. Amanuel Gebru, is being honored by Hermanos Unidos Brothers United (HUBU) for his years of service and mentorship to HUBU and City Scholars students, a program that champions the success of justice-impacted students. HUBU programs are designed to support the success of Black and Brown male students. 

“This well-deserved recognition of our three presidents serve as testament to their student-centric and equity-minded approach to leading their institutions and serving students,” said LACCD Chancellor Francisco C. Rodriguez. “These distinguished leaders display consistent and unwavering dedication, and a powerful vision for student success and accelerating educational equity.”

“Their accomplishments reflect each president’s personal commitment, their values and their commitment to their colleges,” said Board of Trustees President David Vela. “We thank these outstanding organizations for recognizing our college presidents.”

"I'm privileged to be a member of the first cohort of the Aspen Institute's Presidents Fellowship as West builds on its Aspen Top 150 designation and continues our focus on equity and student success," said President James Limbaugh.

“This honor certainly belongs to all those who have persevered in their careers to ensure equity and access to all,” added President Anthony Culpepper. “I am humbled by the consideration.”

"I am deeply honored to receive this outstanding mentorship award. For me, mentoring is a rewarding journey of giving and learning, and it's a privilege to be part of the growth and success of others,” said President Amanuel Gebru. “I believe in the power of mentorship to inspire, guide, and shape futures, and I am grateful for the opportunity to make a positive impact."

LACCD extends our heartfelt congratulations to President Limbaugh, President Culpepper, and President Gebru for their well-deserved accolades.

# # #


About the Los Angeles Community College District (LACCD)

LACCD ( is the nation’s largest community college district, educating about 210,000 students annually at its nine colleges that serve the residents of more than 36 cities and communities from 900 square miles of Los Angeles County. Since 1969, the District has been providing an important learning pathway for students seeking transfer to four-year colleges or universities while also offering two-year degrees and certificated training programs to Southern California’s diverse workforce in many specialized trades and professions. Learn more about our L.A. College Promise program of free tuition at OurPromiseYourPath.


Members of the Board | David Vela, President | Nichelle Henderson, Vice President | Kelsey K. Iino, Ed.D., Second Vice President | Andra Hoffman | Sara Hernandez | Steven F. Veres | Gabriel Buelna, Ph.D. | Alexy Cordova, Student Trustee