Partners and Sponsoring Unions


Sponsoring Unions

  • Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1277
  • California Federation of Teachers
  • CWA - Southern California Council
  • IATSE Local 800 - Art Directors
  • IBEW Local 11 - Construction
  • IBEW Local 18 - DWP Workers
  • International Longshore and Warehouse Union Local 63
  • Laborers Local 300
  • Los Angeles City Firefighters
  • Los Angeles College Faculty Guild, AFT Local 1521
  • Los Angeles College Staff Guild, AFT Local 1521A
  • SEIU Local 721 - Southern California Public Service Workers
  • SEIU - United Healthcare Workers-West
  • UA Local 250 - Steamfitters, Refrigeration Fitters
  • UA Pipe Trades District Council 16
  • UFCW Local 770
  • UFCW Local 1442
  • United Teachers Los Angeles


DHLI Steering Committee

  • Velma Butler. President, AFT 1521A College Staff Guild
  • Gary Colombo. Faculty, LA City College
  • Yasmin Delahoussaye.  Vice Chancellor, Educational Programs and Institutional Effectiveness, LACCD
  • Carl Friedlander.   President, Community College Council. Representative, AFT 1521 Los Angeles Faculty Guild
  • Don Gauthier. President, District Academic Senate, LACCD
  • John McDowell. Director, Los Angeles Trade-Technical College Labor Center
  • Lou Siegel. Labor Liaison.  Faculty, Los Angeles Trade-Technical College Labor Center
  • Joanne Waddell. President, AFT 1521 Los Angeles Faculty Guild
  • Kent Wong. Director, UCLA Center for Labor Research and Education
  • Kathleen Yasuda. Associate Director, Los Angeles Trade-Technical College Labor Center


DHLI Faculty 

LA City College

  • Glen Britton
  • Gary Colombo
  • Joseph Meyer

East LA College

  • Maria D. Carlos
  • Carlos Centeno
  • Michael Colling
  • Natalina Monteiro
  • Haydee Urita-Lopez

LA Harbor College

  • Ellen Joiner
  • Bill Loiterman
  • Jose Lopez
  • Mario Valadez

LA Mission College

  • Lilamani De Silva
  • Jose Maldonado
  • John Morales

Pierce College

  • Monika Del Bosque
  • Paul Hicks
  • Mitra Hoshiar
  • James McKeever
  • Chuck O'Connell
  • Brian Walsh

LA Southwest College

  • Darren Cifarelli
  • Jessica Drawbond
  • Daniel Ortega
  • Kristine Wright

LA Trade-Technical College

  • Lisa Moreno
  • Lou Siegel

LA Valley College

  • Pat Allen
  • Zack Knorr
  • Pete Lopez
  • Laura Scott

West LA College

  • Bruce Anders
  • Grace Chee
  • Olga Shewfelt


Labor Scholars Advisory Board

  • Dr. Edna Bonacich, UCR Sociology and Ethnic Studies
  • Dr. Karen Brodkin, UCLA Anthropology
  • Dr. Jose Calderon, Pitzer College Sociology and Chicano Studies
  • Dr. Renny Christopher, CSUCI English
  • Mike Davis, UCR Creative Writing
  • Dr. Myrna Donahoe, CSUDH History and Women Studies
  • Dr. Peter Dreier, Director, Occidental College Urban and
  • Environmental Policy Program
  • Dr. Patrick Finn, SUNY Buffalo Education
  • Fred Glass, Chair, California Assembly Speaker’s Commission on
  • Labor Education
  • Dr. Nelson Lichtenstein, Director, UCSB Center for the Study of
  • Work, Labor and Democracy
  • Dr. Sherry Linkon, Director, YSU Center for Working-Class Studies
  • Dr. Alejandra Marchevsky, CSULA Liberal Studies
  • Dr. Ruth Milkman, UCLA Sociology
  • Dr. Jim Miller, SDCC English and Labor Studies
  • Dr. William Mohr, CSULB English
  • Dr. Enrique Ochoa, Director, CSULA Latin American Studies
  • Dr. Charles O’connell, UCI Sociology
  • Dr. Steven Pitts, Labor Policy Specialist, UCB Labor Center
  • Dr. Vivian Price, Chair CSUDH Labor Studies
  • Dr. Ellen Reese, Chair, UCR Labor Studies Minor
  • Bill Shields, Director, SFCC Labor and Community Studies
  • Linda Tubach, LAUSD Collective Bargaining Education Project
  • Dr. Angela Vergara, CSULA History
  • Dr. Devra Weber, UCR History
  • Goetz Wolff, Executive Director, Harry Bridges Institute and UCLA Urban Planning